
Touch Move
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○ All games of chess played during Chess Club shall be played according to the 
official USCF rules concerning “touch move” (section 10). They are summarized, 
and expounded upon, as follows: 

 
○ If you touch a piece intending to move it, you must move it; if you touch your 

opponent’s piece intending to capture it, you must capture it; and if you move a piece 
from one square to another and remove your hand from it (even if it drops from 
your hand), you must leave it where it is — assuming, of course, it is your turn to 
move and the move made is legal. 

 
○ If you accidentally knock over a piece with the cuff of your sleeve, or the back of 

your hand, say “I adjust” (or “j’adoube”) and restore the piece to its original 
position — you do not need to move it. 

 
○ If it is your turn to move and you wish to adjust a piece on the board or remove a 

speck from the board, first say “I adjust” (or “j’adoube”) and only then adjust the 
set and board. 

 
○ When you castle, the proper method is to first move the king and then move the 

rook. But there is no penalty if one touches the rook first when castling, except 
that if castling is illegal, you must move the rook if legal. 

 
○ There is no penalty for (or restriction against) touching a piece off the board. 
 

Please Note: If it is not your turn to move,  
you should not touch the board or any piece on the board.


